Parliament of Ghana

Leadership of Ghana’s 7th Parliament

Ahead of the swearing-in of President-Elect Nana Akufo-Addo on Saturday, January 7, the Seventh Parliament of the Fourth Republic would be constituted on January 6, 2017.

Below is a full list of the incoming Parliament leadership;

Speaker: Professor Aaron Mike Oquaye

mike Oquaye

Prof. Oquaye was the Member of Parliament for Dome-Kwabenya from 2005 to 2013.

He was also Ghana’s High Commissioner to India from 2001 to 2004, Minister of Energy from 2005 to 2006, and Minister of Communications from 2006 to 2009.

First Deputy Speaker: Mr Joseph Osei Owusu

Mr Joseph Osei Wusu is the member of Parliament for Bekwai and a Lawyer

Second Deputy Speaker: Mr Alban Bagbin
Alban Bagbin

Majority Leader: Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu

Deputy Majority Leader: Madam Sarah Adwoa Safo

Adwoa Safo

Majority Whip: Kwasi Ameyaw Cheremeh

Minority Leader: Haruna Iddrisu
Huruna Idirrisu
Mr Iddrisu, is the outgoing Minister of Employment and Labour Relations, has served on a number of committees in Parliament including the Appointments Committee, the Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary Committee, as well as the Judicial Committee.

Deputy Minority Leader: James Klutse Avedzi
Mr Avedzi is Member of Parliament for Ketu North.

Minority Chief Whip: Mohammed Muntaka

Deputy Minority Chief Whip:
Ahmed Ibrahim, Member of Parliament for Banda, Ahmed Ibrahim,
Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, Member of Parliament for Ada East